Hard Drive Reliability Study

I use the Backblaze online storage service, which I find inexpensive, easy to use, and reliable. They just released an updated report on the longevity of the traditional, spinning hard drives they use in their storage pods; these results do not apply to solid state drives.

Please keep in mind that these are the drives Backblaze uses most often. If they don’t address your favorite brand, they just don’t use enough of them to have reliable data.

Considering the results of the original and updated studies are the same, I think there are some obvious conclusions:

(1) Hitachi’s are a safe bet, which is probably why there’s one in my iMac.

(2) A Seagate or Western Digital that is not 3TB is probably okay. I can vouch for that. My 1TB and 2TB Seagate drives are fine.

(3) If it’s either a 3TB Seagate or a 3TB WD, run in the other direction! (No experience with these, and I’m keeping it that way.)

https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-drive-reliability-update-september-2014/

To other drive makers, I’m just passing along Backblaze’s data. If you want to sue someone, sue them.

